Articles and research reviews in the following areas: Astronomy, Biology, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Computing: Databases, Discrete Mathematics, Engineering: Structural Analysis, and Physics.
Includes content from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology; the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology and, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. Biographical information is also included.
- ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB)
American Council of Learned Societies (ACLS) Humanities E-Book HEB is an online, fully searchable collection of 4,680 books of high quality in the humanities. Frequently cited in the literature, these titles are recommended by scholars and learned societies and include many prize-winning works. Users may also access online book reviews from the major journals.
- AP Images Collection
Unlimited access to the photos, audio clips, graphics and text articles of the Associated Press. All content is licensed for educational use and comes with caption and citation information.
- Art Full Text
This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications—including expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
- Artemis Literary Sources Academic (Gale)
Use Artemis Literary Sources, from Gale Cengage Learning, to find literary resources from the following in one search:
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Children’s Literature Review
Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Literature Criticism 1400-1800
Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism
Short Story Criticism
Something About the Author (children’s authors and artists)
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
Artstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
- CQ Researcher
44 reports are produced each year on current issues. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts -- round out each report.
- Credo Reference
Full-text content from the latest edition of over 500 reference books. 24/7 access.
- Current Biography Illustrated
Current Biography Illustrated (TM) reflects the entire contents of the printed monthly Current Biography—a trusted resource in library collections since 1940. This is where you will find reliable information about the people making tomorrow’s headlines plus historical figures back to World War II. Contains more than 15,000 full text biographies, more than 9,400 obituaries and more than 19,500 lively images.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
Features comprehensive literary biographies of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights. These biographies are written by recognized literary scholars and critics. The biographies discuss the lives and careers of the literary figures profiled, along with the critical response to their works.
- DSM Premium @ PsychiatryOnline.com
Access to reference books, including the DSM-5 (and previous editions of the DSM), plus peer-reviewed journals (1997-current): American Journal of Psychiatry, Psychiatric Services, Academic Psychiatry and Journal of Neuropsychiatry & Clinical Neurosciences. Some textbooks and study guides are also available.
Broad subject coverage, including both scholarly and popular periodicals. Has many "sub-databases" from which to choose.
- Education Full Text
This full-text source of education scholarship provides coverage for a wide range of topics, including adult education, continuing education, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, secondary education, teaching methods and much more. In addition, Education Full Text provides in-depth coverage of special education, with over 50 journals dedicated to this important topic.
- eHRAF World Cultures
A cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level
- Ethnic NewsWatch
Interdisciplinary, multilingual, and comprehensive full text databases of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
GVRL is a library of reference books, listed by subject, as well as by title.
- General Science Full Text
General Science Full Text is the first place to look for answers to science-related questions. This database features full text, plus the graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations that convey an abundance of scientific information. (Subjects covered: Astronomy, Atmospheric Science, Biology, Botany, Chemistry, Conservation, Earth Science, Environment, Food, Genetics, Health, Mathematics, Medicine, Microbiology, Nutrition, Oceanography, Physics, Physiology, Zoology)
- Humanities Full Text
Humanities Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines. The database indexes, abstracts and delivers the full text of feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, drama, and poetry, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, radio and television programs, and more. (Subjects covered: Archaeology, Area Studies, Art, Classical Studies, Communications, Dance, Film, Folklore, Gender Studies, History, Journalism, Linguistics, Literary & Social Criticism Literature, Music, Performing Arts, Philosophy, Religion and Theology).
- IOP Science
IOPscience is an online service for journal content published by IOP (Institute of Physics) Publishing. IOPscience embraces innovative technologies to make it easier for researchers to access scientific, technical and medical content.
- Issues & Controversies
Opposing points of view on controversial topics. From Facts.com
Growing archive of backfiles of journals and book excerpts in fields such as history, economics, political science, mathematics, philosophy, etc. Files start with the first volume of each journal.
- Literature Criticism Online (LCO)
Includes the following, beginning with volume 1 to current:
Children's Literature Review
Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Literature Criticism 1400-1800
19th Century Literary Criticism
Short Story Criticism
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
- Literature Resource Center
Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements.
International in scope, LitFinder covers all time periods and contains a wealth of primary literature content. This includes approximately 140,000 full-text poems, 800,000 poem citations and excerpts, 7,100 full-text short stories and novels, 3,800 full-text essays, 2,000 full-text speeches and 1,700 full-text plays. It also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs and a glossary.
- Mango Languages
71 foreign languages, 17 English as a Second Language (ESL) courses, and 6 specialty languages are available. Download the app for use on your mobile device.
- Material ConneXion
Database which contains more than 7,500 innovative materials and processes across all disciplines of design, including Architecture, Design, Construction, and Art. This database provides comprehensive product information, technical specifications, application information, manufacturer and distributor contact information, and images for each material in the collection.
The subscription to this database will end on May 14, 2016.
- National Geographic Magazine Archive
Includes the archive from 1888-1994, 1995-current, and People, Animals & the World.
- New York Times, Historical, Extra Edition
Access to news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, stock photos, and advertisements. Coverage: 1851-2012.
- New York Times, The
Coverage: June 1, 1980 - current. Through ProQuest Newsstand.
- Nursing & Allied Health Source
From ProQuest, this database provides full text journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations to support the study of the many aspects of nursing or the allied health professions, including physical therapy, radiography, dietetics, dental hygiene, and the clinical laboratory sciences.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Premier full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online
"The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world."
- Oxford Medicine Online
Oxford Medicine Online is an interconnected collection of online medical resources: Acute Respiratory Infections, Asthma, Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, Cystic Fibrosis, Emergencies in Adult Nursing, Emergencies in Clinical Radiology, Emergencies in Respiratory Medicine, Medical Emergencies in Dentistry, Smoking Cessation, Oxford Handbook of Cardiac Nursing, Oxford Handbook of Prescribing for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals, and Oxford Handbook of Primary Care and Community Nursing.
- Oxford Music Online
Oxford Music Online is a dynamic online resource and the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music, which includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition. Also includes access to the full text of the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.
- Oxford Reference Library
Full-text access to the following reference sources:
Dictionaries: Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable!; of Humorous Quotations; of Political Quotations; of Quotations; of the Jewish Religion
Encyclopedias: of Africa; of African American History, 1619-1895 and 1896 to the Present; of Climate and Weather; of Social Work, 20th ed.; Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art & Architecture; of American Military and Diplomatic History; of American Social History; of Food and Drink in America (2nd ed.); of the Books of the Bible
Oxford Companions: to American Politics; to Archaeology 2nd ed.; to Classical Literature; to Comparative Politics; to Music; to Theatre and Performance
- Philadelphia Business Journal
Full access to the Philadelphia Business Journal, including the Book of Lists, People on the Move, and Weekly Editions.
- Philadelphia Inquirer, The
Coverage: January 1, 1983 - current. Through ProQuest Newsstand.
- Project MUSE
Provides access to the full-text of over 594 scholarly journals in Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, etc. Coverage: 1990-current.
- Pronunciator Languages
80 foreign languages and 50 English as a Second Language (ESL) courses are available. Download the app for use on your mobile device.
Access ends May 11, 2017.
- ProQuest Newsstand
ProQuest Newsstand – includes the following:
Chicago Tribune (1985-current)
Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
New York Times (1980-current)
The Philadelphia Inquirer (1983-current)
Wall Street Journal (1984-current)
Washington Post (1987-current)
Plus International newspapers
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycARTICLES is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.
- R2 Digital Library (Rittenhouse)
Electronic books in medicine, nursing, and allied health. Titles include:
Calculation Skills For Nurses, 1st edition; Cultural Competencies For Nurses, 2nd edition; Diet And Nutrition In Oral Health, 2nd edition; Ethics, Jurisprudence, & Practice Management In Dental Hygiene, 3rd edition; Fluid, Electrolyte, And Acid-Base Imbalances, 1st edition; Handbook Of Fluid, Electrolyte, And Acid-Base Imbalances, 3rd edition; Imaging Atlas Of Human Anatomy, 4th edition; Introduction To Physical Therapy For Physical Therapist Assistants, 2nd edition; Lippincott Manual Of Nursing Practice, 10th edition; Math For Nurses, 8th edition; Mosby's 2015 Nursing Drug Reference, 28th edition; Mosby's PDQ For LPN, 3rd edition; Mosby's PDQ For RN, 3rd edition; Nursing Diagnoses 2015-2017, 10th edition; Professional Guide To Signs & Symptoms, 6th edition; Scope And Standards Of Practice: Nursing, 2nd edition; Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, 22nd edition.
Please LOG OUT when finished.
- Readers' Guide Full Text
Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature is a better, more powerful, and convenient way to access the ultimate in current events coverage, curriculum support, and quality periodicals research for students, educators, and library patrons. (Subjects covered: Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biography, Business, Canada, Children, Computers, Consumer Education, Current Events, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Religion, Science, Sports, Television).
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Covers an unparalleled breadth of subject matter, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy. Over 25,000 hot-linked cross-references between articles and new links to other editorially reviewed websites.
Access to 8 titles (2010-current): Early Childhood Research Quarterly, Organizational Dynamics, Journal of Pediatric Nursing, Geriatric Nursing, Heart & Lung: the Journal of Acute and Critical Care, Translational Research, Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, and, Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior.
- Scribner Writers Series
All of the popular Scribner Writers series — including the American Writers Collection, British Writers Collection, European Writers Collection and World and Genre Writers Collection — are available in eBook format.
- Social Sciences Full Text
Social Sciences Full Text covers the latest concepts, trends, opinions, theories, and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences. (Subjects covered: Addiction Studies, Anthropology, Area Studies, Community Health & Medical Care, Corrections, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Law, Minority Studies, Planning & Public Administration, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychiatry, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, Sociology, Urban Studies).
- Something About the Author
Each volume of the Something About the Author (SATA) series provides illustrated biographical profiles of approximately 75 children's authors and artists, spotlights more than 12,000 individuals in entries that typically cover personal life, career, writings, adaptations, and additional sources.
Something About the Author: Autobiography Series published 447 unique autobiographical essays by children’s and young adult authors from 1985 to 1998; since then, more than 200 additional autobiographical essays have been included in the regular SATA series. Autobiographical essays average about 10,000 words and discuss the author's career, interests and motivation, among other topics.
- Twayne's Authors Series
This eBook resource features the content of nearly 900 books from six print series:
U.S. Authors Series Classic
English Writers Series Classic
World Authors Series Classic
Studies in Short Fiction
Authors - updated editions of U.S., World and English
- Very Short Introductions
Very Short Introductions (VSI) provide concise, intelligent introductions to a diverse range of subject areas. All titles are written by experts in their field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable.
With over 425 subjects this searchable database provides an explanation of the subject in question, demonstrating how it evolved, and how it has influenced society. From Oxford University Press.