LibGuides: ENGL 102, Section 006, Fall 2021 Instructor:Jim Landers: News

Always Login to MyCCP to Access Library Resources and Troubleshooting

If you have trouble accessing the full-text of articles:

Are you logged in to MyCCP and navigate to Library from Student tab?
Did you limit your search to full text?
Sometimes the connection may time out, try logging in again
Try a different browser, Firefox or Chrome

Google Search News

Change to "News"

AP News

AP News
"The Associated Press is an independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting. Founded in 1846, AP today remains the most trusted source of fast, accurate, unbiased news in all formats and the essential provider of the technology and services vital to the news business."

Metro Philly

Metro Philly
Free

Major Online Newspapers

Opposing Viewpoints News

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. A rich resource for debaters and includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.

In Opposing Viewpoints, go to Advanced Search, News or search a topic and then go into the News tab

ProQuest

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Limit to News or Advanced Search News

Newspaper Articles

Cohen, Kate. "Are Workers Finally Starting to Get some Respect?" The Washington Post, Sep 14, 2021. ProQuest, https://ezproxy.ccp.edu:2219/newspapers/are-workers-finally-starting-get-some-respect/docview/2572085605/se-2?accountid=9969.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/2021/09/13/are-workers-finally-starting-get-some-respect/?utm_medium=email&utm_source=newsletter&wpisrc=nl_opinions&utm_campaign=wp_opinions

Something fundamental is shifting in Americans’ relationship to work, and it goes beyond the Hiring Crisis and the Great Resignation.

Feintzeig, Rachel. "Work & Life: Work's Future, by the Numbers --- September is Ushering in a Weird Season, as the Question of Where we do our Jobs Remains in Limbo." Wall Street Journal, Sep 13, 2021. ProQuest, https://www.proquest.com/newspapers/work-amp-life-works-future-numbers-september-is/docview/2571814308/se-2?accountid=9969.

https://www.wsj.com/articles/work-in-the-covid-19-era-what-the-numbers-say-about-vaccine-mandates-quitting-and-more-11631505661

Work and Life Column, Wall Street Journal

“Unsustainable and Unhealthy”: As IATSE Workers Go Public, Pressure Mounts on Studios Amid Looming Strike
https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/business/business-news/iatse-workers-studios-strike-plans-1235023970/?utm_source=pocket-newtab

Magazine Articles

A Profession Is Not a Personality

https://www.theatlantic.com/family/archive/2021/09/self-objectification-work/620246/

Radio

‘Mad or nah?’: Philly residents react to diminished services caused by labor shortages
https://whyy.org/articles/mad-or-nah-philly-residents-react-to-diminished-services-caused-by-labor-shortages/