LibGuides: ENGL 102, Section 006, Fall 2021 Instructor:Jim Landers: Journal Articles

Summon

Summon Search This link opens in a new window
Summon is a tool that searches throughout the College Library's print and electronic collections. Use to find periodical articles, books, and more. Filter the search results by type of source (including peer-reviewed), subject, year, etc.
Summon Search results may not work off-campus. Try searching the Databases from the A-Z Database List instead.

Miao, Chao, et al. “A Meta-Analysis of Emotional Intelligence and Work Attitudes.” Journal of Occupational & Organizational Psychology, vol. 90, no. 2, June 2017, pp. 177–202. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1111/joop.12167.
https://ezproxy.ccp.edu:2080/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=122859823&site=ehost-live

Barry, Janis. “Real Wage Growth in the U.S. Health Workforce and the Narrowing of the Gender Pay Gap.” Human Resources for Health, vol. 19, no. 1, Aug. 2021, pp. 1–9. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1186/s12960-021-00647-3.
https://ezproxy.ccp.edu:2080/login.aspx?direct=true&db=asn&AN=152169003&site=ehost-live

EBSCOHOST

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Broad subject coverage, including both scholarly and popular periodicals. Has many "sub-databases" from which to choose.

PREVIEW the new interface (debuts January 2025) here.
1984-current [abstracts]; 1990-current [full-text].
Historical content beginning in 1691.

Vu, Mai Chi, and Nicholas Burton. “The Influence of Spiritual Traditions on the Interplay of Subjective and Normative Interpretations of Meaningful Work.” Journal of Business Ethics, Aug. 2021, pp. 1–24. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1007/s10551-021-04893-2.
https://ezproxy.ccp.edu:2080/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=151732987&site=ehost-live

ProQuest

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas, including Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

"Making People Want to Come to Work: How Transformational Leadership and Meaningful Work Improve Motivation, Work Engagement - and Productivity." Development and Learning in Organizations, vol. 29, no. 5, 2015, pp. 28-30. ProQuest, https://ezproxy.ccp.edu:2219/scholarly-journals/making-people-want-come-work/docview/1696214394/se-2?accountid=9969, doi:http://ezproxy.ccp.edu:2126/10.1108/DLO-05-2015-0047.

ABI Inform

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news (1971-current).

Samutachak, Bhubate, Niphon Darawuttimaprakorn, and Suchita Manajit. "Dream Life Dream Job : Lifestyles that Determine Job Search Criteria of Generation Y College Students in Thailand." International Journal of Business, vol. 26, no. 1, 2021, pp. 26.

Dream Job Eludes 95 Per Cent of Survey Respondents." Career Development International, vol. 7, no. 3, 2002, pp. 192. ProQuest, https://ezproxy.ccp.edu:2219/scholarly-journals/dream-job-eludes-95-per-cent-survey-respondents/docview/219286234/se-2?accountid=9969.

Psych Articles

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as PsycARTICLES, APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycArticles is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.

Gabriel, Allison S., et al. “The Influence of COVID-Induced Job Search Anxiety and Conspiracy Beliefs on Job Search Effort: A within-Person Investigation.” Journal of Applied Psychology, vol. 106, no. 5, May 2021, pp. 657–673. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1037/apl0000926.

Ethnic Diversity Source

Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new window
This full-text database from EBSCO is a dedicated resource covering the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides full text from a growing list of sources including peer-reviewed journals, magazines, e-books, biographies and primary source documents.

burnout or burn-out or burn out or stress or occupational stress or compassionate fatigue or job stress
AND
workplace
AND
african american or black or african-american or black american

REID, JAMES A., et al. “Job Stress and Acculturation Strategies in African American Professionals.” Western Journal of Black Studies, vol. 38, no. 1, Spring 2014, pp. 24–34. EBSCOhost, ezproxy.ccp.edu:2080/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ets&AN=95733184&site=ehost-live.

PERMALINK - https://ezproxy.ccp.edu:2080/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ets&AN=95733184&site=ehost-live

ENGL 102, Section 006, Fall 2021 Instructor:Jim Landers: Journal Articles