Paralegal Studies: Reference Works

Use FindLaw to search the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR). The CFR contains all rules made by federal agencies and executive departments.

Do you have suggestions for resources to add to this guide?  or comments to make? Click on Comments in any of the content boxes and let us hear from you!

The CCP Main Library maintains a PARALEGAL COLLECTION which includes the following Reference Works, updated by supplements and pocket parts and some items located in the Reference section.

(Note: this is a teaching collection so it is not comprehensive and these items do not circulate.  You can look up the titles below in the Library Catalog for detailed holdings, or visit Jenkins Law Library).

LEGAL ENCYCLOPEDIAS

• Corpus Juris Secundum
• Pennsylvania Law Encyclopedia

DICTIONARIES & THESAURI

• Black's Law Dictionary [REF 340 C628, 2009]
• Ballentine's Thesaurus for Legal Research and Writing [REF 349.73 L989b, 1994]

CODES

• United States Code Service
• Purdon's Pennsylvania Statutes Annotated

REPORTERS

• Supreme Court Reporter
• Federal Reporter
• Federal Supplement
• Pennsylvania Reporter

DIGESTS

• Federal Practice Digest 3d & 4th series
• West's Pennsylvania Digest, 2d series

SHEPARD'S CITATIONS

• United State Citations
• United States Supreme Court Case Name Citator
• Federal Citations

LEGAL REFERENCE (treatises, texts, manuals and forms), examples are:

• Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas Civil Practice Manual REF 347.7481105 P544  2011 15th ed. ]
• Dunlap-Hanna Pennsylvania Forms [REF  347.748 D921  ]
• Legal Research: how to find and understand the law [340.072073 E42L, 2009 ]
• Pennsylvania Rules of Court [REF  347.748051 P415 2012 v. 1 & 2]
• The Bluebook: a uniform system of citation [REF 347.30847 B658, 2005] 

For more, search the Library's catalog!

Search the Library Catalog:

Articles from Reference Works can be accessed online through:

ON CAMPUS:

Navigate to the CCP Library home page, at http://library.ccp.edu; then click on Indexes and Databases and click on Credo Reference, then type a topical word into the search box; you can also enter a search of your own

OFF CAMPUS:

If you are off-campus, you can access the databases by logging into MyCCP:

1. On the MyCCP Home Tab, find the box labeled "Student Support"
2. Click on the Library link
3. Then click the Indexes and Databases button
4. If you are prompted for a password (just refresh the page, you can press Ctrl-R to do this)
5. Click on the link to the database you wish to search and you are ready to begin!

Click on Credo Reference, then type a topical word  into the search box

Please don't hesitate to contact a reference librarian if you need research assistance.  We are also available by text chat on Zoho, M-R 1-9:00 p.m. You can find the link to Zoho Chat at the bottom of the Library's home page  under the button "IM a Librarian."