LibGuides: Chemistry: Databases & Web sites

Library Databases

Use these databases to find magazine and journal articles.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
This large multi-disciplinary database provides access to articles in thousands of magazines and journals with coverage relevant to the study of chemistry.
1984-current [abstracts]; 1990-current [full-text].
Historical content beginning in 1691.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR provides access to interdisciplinary and scholarly articles. It includes over 1,000 leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including hundreds of journals dealing with issues in chemistry.

Organizations

Free Databases

ACS Journal Search
The leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences. We do not have full-text access, but this is still a valuable resource.

Although we do not have full-text access to all of these resources, as indicated, they are still valuable research tools. Inaccessible material can be requested from inter-library loan (ILLIAD).

Open Access Journals in Chemistry
The Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) aims to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals in order to promote their increased usage and impact. 100+ chemistry journals!
Organic Compounds Database
A searchable organic compounds database. Search by melting point, boiling point, molecular weight and more.
PubChem
PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data in three primary databases, PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay, respectively. Records in these databases link to each other as well as to scientific literature in PubMed and protein structure information in NCBI Structure. PubChem also includes a chemical structure similarity search tool.
Science Direct
An index to over 1,600 full text Elsevier Science journals; primarily scientific, technical, and medical. We do not have full-text access, but this is still a valuable reference.
TOXNET
TOXNET includes the Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB®), a database of potentially hazardous chemicals, TOXLINE® (containing references to the world's toxicology literature), and ChemIDplus® (a chemical dictionary and structure database).

Websites

Chemistry and Life
An issue of the UNESCO Courier on the big questions about chemistry and life.
ChemEd DL
The Chemical Education Digital Library (ChemEd DL) provides digital resources, tools, and online services to aid in teaching and learning chemistry.
Chemical Heritage Foundation
Located in Philadelphia, the Chemical Heritage Foundation (CHF) fosters an understanding of chemistry’s impact on society. It maintains major collections of instruments, fine art, photographs, papers, and books. And it hosts conferences and lectures, supports research, offers fellowships, and produces educational materials. Their museum and public programs explore subjects ranging from alchemy to nanotechnology.
International Year of Chemistry 2011
The International Year of Chemistry 2011 (IYC 2011) was proclaimed by the United Nations General Assembly. It aims to celebrate the contributions made by chemistry to the well-being of humankind.
TED
Riveting talks by remarkable people, TED has scientific- and technology-related videos on a wide range of topics.

Jobs in Chemsitry

Subject Guide

Nicole Duncan-Kinard

Email Me

Contact:

1700 Spring Garden Street,
Library, Room L1-11
Philadelphia, PA 19130

215-751-8407

Subjects: Mathematics