Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Main Campus: 215-751-8394 | NERC Learning Commons: 215-972-6270 | NWRC Library: 215-496-6019 | WERC Learning Commons: 267-299-5848
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
A Dictionary of Chemistry
Fully revised and updated, this popular dictionary covers all aspects of chemistry from physical chemistry to biochemisty, with broader coverage in forensics, metallurgy, and geology.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary' is a compilation of technical data and descriptive information covering thousands of chemicals and chemical phenomena, trade name products, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology.
Try these for background information, definitions, and overviews of particular topics.
Encyclopedia of Chemistry
Contains more than two thousand chemistry-related entries, four essays, information on leading discoveries, and biographies of notable chemists throughout history.
African American Women Chemists by
Call Number: 540.922 B878a, 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-14
Dr. Marie Maynard Daly received her PhD in Chemistry from Columbia University in 1947. Although she was hardly the first of her race and gender to engage in the field, she was the first African American woman to receive a PhD in chemistry in the United States. In this book, Jeannette Brown, anAfrican American woman chemist herself, will present a wide-ranging historical introduction to the relatively new presence of African American women in the field of chemistry. It will detail their struggles to obtain an education and their efforts to succeed in a field in which there were fewAfrican American men, much less African American women.The book contains sketches of the lives of African America women chemists from the earliest pioneers up until the late 1960's when the Civil Rights Acts were passed and greater career opportunities began to emerge. In each sketch, Brown will explore women's motivation to study the field and detailtheir often quite significant accomplishments. Chapters focus on chemists in academia, industry, and government, as well as chemical engineers, whose career path is very different from that of the tradition chemist. The book concludes with a chapter on the future of African American women chemists,which will be of interest to all women interested in science.
Use this form to suggest a new purchase.
The Public Image of Chemistry
Popular images of chemistry range from poisons, hazards, chemical warfare and environmental pollution to alchemical pseudoscience, sorcery and mad scientists. This gravely affects its public image. While chemists have merely complained about their public image, social and cultural studies of science have largely avoided anything related to chemistry. This book provides, for the first time, an in-depth understanding of the various contexts in which the public image of chemistry has emerged.
Chemistry: The Impure Science
Using history to introduce central issues in the philosophy of chemistry, and mobilizing the theme of impurity, this book explores the tradition of chemistry's negative image. It then argues for the positive philosophical value of chemistry, reflecting its characteristic practical engagement with the material world. The book concludes with some ethical reflections concerning chemistry's orientations in the twenty-first century.
Clinical Chemistry: Techniques, Principles, Correlations
This acclaimed text continues to be the most student-friendly clinical chemistry text available, featuring clear explanations that strike just the right balance of analytic principles, techniques, and the correlation of results with disease states.
Chemical Calculations by
Chemical Calculations: Mathematics for Chemistry, Second Edition provides a unified, student-friendly reference of mathematical concepts and techniques incorporated into the context of familiar chemical topics.
Uniquely organized by chemical—rather than mathematical—topics, this book relates each mathematical technique to the chemical concepts where it applies.
These are the main numbers:
540 Chemistry & allied sciences
541 Physical chemistry
542 Techniques, equipment etc
543 Analytical chemistry
546 Inorganic chemistry
547 Organic chemistry
Try these, too:
660 Chemical engineering
661 Industrial chemicals
662 Explosives, fuels etc
663 Beverage technology
664 Food technology
665 Industrial oils, fats, etc
666 Ceramic & allied tech.
667 Cleaning, colr, coating tech.
668 Technology of othr org. prod.
Don't forget to check both Reference and the Main Stacks.