LibGuides: Nursing Research: Home

DATABASES

The databases listed below are suggested as the best resources for finding Nursing and Allied Health articles.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Use EBSCOHost to search Health Source: Nursing/Academic edition, and MEDLINE.
1984-current [abstracts]; 1990-current [full-text].
Historical content beginning in 1691.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text of journals in nursing and allied health professions.
Ovid Nursing Journal Collection This link opens in a new window Access to nursing journals, including: Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal; Advances in Neonatal Care; Advances in Nursing Science; Advances in Skin & Wound Care; AJN: American Journal of Nursing; Cancer Nursing: An International Journal for Cancer Care; CIN: Computers, Informatics, Nursing; Clinical Nurse Specialist; Critical Care Nursing Quarterly; Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing; Family & Community Health; Gastroenterology Nursing; Health Care Management Review; Holistic Nursing Practice; Home Healthcare Now; JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports; JONA's Healthcare Law, Ethics, and Regulation; Journal for Nurses in Professional Development; Journal of Addictions Nursing; Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing; Journal of Christian Nursing; Journal of Hospice & Palliative Nursing; Journal of Infusion Nursing; Journal of Nursing Administration; Journal of Nursing Care Quality; Journal of Patient Safety; Journal of Perinatal & Neonatal Nursing; Journal of the Dermatology Nurses' Association; Journal of Trauma Nursing; Journal of WOCN (Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nursing); LPN- Backfile; MCN, The American Journal of Maternal/Child Nursing; Nurse Educator; Nurse Practitioner, The; Nursing Administration Quarterly; Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!; Nursing Management; Nursing Research; Nursing@Ovid Interface; Nursing2017 Critical Care; Nutrition Today; OR Nurse – Backfile; Orthopaedic Nursing; Plastic Surgical Nursing; and, Professional Case Management. As of 2-12-24: SELECT ALL RESOURCES
PsycARTICLES (Now APA PsycArticles) This link opens in a new window
PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycArticles is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.

PubMed for Nurses
PubMed is a government database that contains citations for the biomedical literature found in MEDLINE.
more...less...
This site offers a tutorial for finding nursing literature in the PubMed database.

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Articles and research reviews in the following areas: Astronomy, Biology, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Computing: Databases, Discrete Mathematics, Engineering: Structural Analysis, and Physics.

Includes content from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology; the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology and, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. Biographical information is also included.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest, this collection offers scholarly ebooks from leading publishers on many different subjects including Arts, Business, Education, Health, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science, Social Science, Technology, and more. Subject listing may be helpful.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical and biomedical, consumer health, health administration, etc. - journal articles.
R2 Digital Library (Rittenhouse) This link opens in a new window
Nursing titles include: Calculation Skills for Nurses, 2nd edition; Cultural Competencies for Nurses, 2nd edition, Math for Nurses, 8th edition; Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, 10th edition, and more.
Please see the R2 Digital Library for new titles.

PLOS Medicine
PLOS Medicine is an open access journal that has been in publication since 2004.

Core E-Books

Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses by April Hazard Vallerand; Cynthia A. Sanoski
ISBN: 9781719640053
Publication Date: 2020-05-21
Gray's Basic Anatomy by Richard Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. Mitchell
ISBN: 9780323474047
Publication Date: 2017-02-21
Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice by Sandra M. Nettina
ISBN: 9781496379948
Publication Date: 2019
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy 20E by Robert S. Porter (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780911910421
Publication Date: 2018-04-17

Nursing Information on the Web

This page contains links to nursing organizations. Many of these organizations have information especially for students, including scholarship information.

American Nurses Association Nursing World
ANA is a 3.1 million member organization that supports the interests of RNs.
Barbara Bates Center for the Study of the History of Nursing
Housed on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania, the Center is a research for those interested in the history of nursing in the United States.
DiscoverNursing.com
Nursing career information for students created by Johnson & Johnson services. Includes personal profiles of nursing students, as well as a wealth of information about the nursing profession.
Ethnic Minority Nurses Organizations
National Association of Hispanic Nurses
National Black Nurses Association
National Coalition of Ethnic Minority Nurse Associations (NCEMNA)
NCEMNA is a collaboration of five ethnic minority nursing organizations.
National League for Nursing
The NLN website provides a wealth of information on the profession of nursing including grant and scholarship information for nursing students.
National Student Nurses Association
The National Student Nurses Association (NSNA) describes itself as "Mentoring the Future of the Nursing Profession". It boasts a membership of over 56,000 students in nursing programs from diploma nursing through graduate school.
Pennsylvania State Board of Nursing
This website has information for nurses and future nurses. Licensure information can be found on the page of this website, as well as RN law, PN law, rules and regulations, and the current number of nursing licenses held in Pennsylvania.
Sigma Theta Tau
Sigma Theta Tau, founded in 1922, is the international society of nursing, now known as Sigma. Membership is open to baccalaureate and graduate level nursing students.
Student Nurses' Association of Pennsylvania
The Student Nurses' Association of Pennsylvania (SNAP) is a group associated with the National Student Nurses' Association.
Community College of Philadelphia is part of the SNAP Central Philadelphia region.

Streaming Video

Films On Demand , Nursing Searchable database of over 700 nursing films.

Government Web Sites

Government sponsored health related websites contain a wealth of current reliable information.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC offers health information of interest to consumers.
Food and Drug Administration
The FDA website includes information that is useful to clinicians and consumers. Information on this site includes food and food safety, and new drug approvals. Consumer information includes the latest on consumer products, and health news.
Health.gov
This website is a compilation of information from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, consumer health information, and the latest in health news.
Healthy People 2030
National health objectives for the United States.
MedlinePlus
Health information for the consumer. This site contains health and disease information for all age groups, drug information, and videos.
MMWR - Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
The MMWR is a division of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). MMWR is a weekly publication that provides public health information and data for health care professionals.
News in Health
Monthly newsletter published by the National Institutes of Health to promote healthy lifestyles.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides useful information about the work environment in many professions.
The Handbook is a publication of the Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Office of Minority Health
U. S. Health and Human Services Department agency dedicated to the "improving the health of ethnic and racial minority populations".
PubMed
PubMed is a database that contains citations for biomedical literature found in MEDLINE. Free fulltext and e-books are available for a selection of publications.
USDA Nutrition.gov
Nutrition.gov is sponsored by the USDA and provides a variety of useful information for clinicians and consumers.
Womenshealth.gov
Sponsored by The Office on Women's Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Study Guide

KNAT Full Study Guide: Study Manual with 100 Video Lessons, 4 Full Length Practice Tests Book
ISBN: 9781949147292
Publication Date: 2019

Health Care Pathway (Nursing and Allied Health) Librarian

Jacquelyn Bryant

Email Me

Research Appointment

Make an Appointment
Click the link to make a research appointment with Jacquelyn Bryant.

HealthCare Textbooks

Open Educational Resources - OER

Open RN - Open Education Resources for Nurses

ILL Tipasa

Interlibrary Loan
Go to Quick Links on the Library Home Page and click "Interlibrary Loan".
Enter your MyCCP user name and password to open the request form.

Remote Access to Databases

If you are off campus, follow these directions to access the library's databases.

Log in to MyCCP
Select Student Services
Click on the Library Link
From the Library Homepage click the Databases tab
Select the A-Z Database list or Databases by Pathway
Begin Searching!

Nursing Research: Home

NOTE: Follow Login Prompts from the Library Homepage to Link to Articles, Databases, and eBooks