Evidence-Based Nursing
A way of providing nursing care that is guided by the integration of the best available scientific knowledge with nursing expertise. This approach requires nurses to critically assess relevant scientific data or research evidence, and to implement high-quality interventions for their nursing practice.
Source: NLM MeSH
Year introduced: 2009
Lippincott Nursing : What is Evidence Based Practice (video, contains ads)
While doing a database search, the following terms can be added to your search statement to retrieve Evidence Based Practice articles:
Clinical Trials
Evidence Based
Evidence Based Practice
Evidence Based Medicine
Meta Analysis
Randomized Control Study
Randomized Control Trial
Systematic Review
How to Create a Clinical Question
Use the PICO method to construct a clinical question
Include Boolean Terms to help Refine your database search
AND : includes all terms
OR : includes at least one term, for best results use synonyms or variations of spelling
NOT : excludes terms from your search
de Groot, M., van der Wouden, J. M., van Hell, E. A., & Nieweg, M. B. (2013). Evidence-based practice for individuals or groups: let's make a difference. Perspectives on medical education, 2(4), 216–221. https://doi.org/10.1007/s40037-013-0071-2
Brown's Evidence-Based Nursing by
Brown's Evidence-Based Nursing: The Research-Practice Connection continues to be a popular choice for graduate and upper level undergraduate students in an updated fifth edition. In an accessible and easy-to-read style, it introduces students to research methods and evidence-based practice. Students will understand research methods, how to appraise and use research evidence in clinical decision-making, and how to fully understand and engage in evidence-based practice. The unique Why-How-What format along with the exemplar studies throughout provide rich context for learning how EBP progresses from research results.The Fifth Edition was revised to feature LGBTQIA+ inclusive language and features a greater focus on information technology as it relates to EBP. Additionally, clear exemplars and appendices help fully explain key concepts while minimizing the potential for students to feel overwhelmed by the intricacies of scientific research jargon. Brown's Evidence-Based Nursing: The Research-Practice Connection, Fifth Edition is the clear choice for instructors seeking an application-focused resource for their students.
Fast Facts for Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing by
Helps readers to grasp the language and process of research with ease With updated content and new references throughout, the fourth edition of this quick-access resource delivers key information on the foundations of evidence-based practice (EBP) and fundamental nursing research concepts. Readers of the new edition will benefit from information on the newest trends in EBP, new case studies demonstrating how evidence can be translated into practice, expanded coverage of EBP models, and end-of-chapter study questions with rationales to promote learning. Written for students of EBP and practicing nurses who wish to integrate research-based theory into their daily practice, this resource outlines different types of research in easy-to-understand language with the goal of applying EBP into daily practice. New to the Fourth Edition: Updated throughout with new information and references Includes case studies demonstrating how evidence can be translated into practice Provides expanded coverage of EBP models Offers study questions with rationales at the end of each chapter Key Features: Describes step by step how EBP can be implemented to improve patient care Written in abbreviated "Fast Facts" style with brief, bulleted information Includes examples of how hospitals and healthcare providers are integrating EBP into their practice Advises students on developing and completing EBP projects
The following websites are dedicated to the practice and location of Evidence Based Practice tools.
AHRQ - Agency for Healthcare and Research Quality
PubMed Evidence Based Practice Training Course