Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

John Dewey (1859-1952), educator and philosopher: Articles

This guide is a collection of resources that Ruth Baker compiled on behalf of members of the Faculty Learning Community on Critical Thinking (FLCoCT) -a year-long seminar on Dewey's How We Think (1910) at Community College of Philadelphia, 2010-11

Dewey Pro and Con: Journal Articles

In an effort to be good critical thinkers, here are a few articles (not necessarily in MLA format!) to compare with Dewey's writings that we also considered and discussed in the seminar:

  • Eageton, Terry, 2010   "Reappraisals: what is the worth of social democracy?" Harper's Magazine, October 2010: 77-80. [also available through the CCP Library's databases, http://library.ccp.edu or via MyCCP]

  • Clifford: Making Reflective Judgments [click on PDF below]

  • A New Culture of Learning: John Dewey Meets the Internet [click on PDF below]

RSS Feeds

Do you frequently run the same search in JSTOR? if so, you might want to know that you can set up RSS feeds or email alerts that will be sent to you automatically!

Keeping up: Alerts in JSTOR | JSTOR
about.jstor.org
The ability to set alerts is one of the benefits of a MyJSTOR account. You can save search alerts and electronic table of contents (or eTOC) alerts. JSTOR can send you an email message or an RSS feed update when content relevant to your research is added to the platform.

Suggestions?

Do you have suggestions for resources to add to this guide?  or comments to make? Click on Comments in any of the content boxes and let us hear from you!

Search Google Scholar

Click Search to look for articles on John Dewey and Progressive Education (or try your own search) in Google Scholar. Just remember: Scholar can contain links to student papers....

Google Scholar Search

Search the CCP Library's Article Databases ("The Fee-based Web")

ON CAMPUS:

Navigate to the CCP Library home page, at http://library.ccp.edu; then click on Databases and choose a database to search.  

 

 

(Academic Search Complete and ERIC databases) are good starting points

OFF CAMPUS:

If you are off-campus, you can access the databases by logging into MyCCP

  1. On the MyCCP Home Tab, find the box labeled "Important Links"
  2. Click on the Library link
  3. Then click the Indexes and Databases button
  4. If you are prompted for a password, just refresh the page (you can press Ctrl-R to do this)
  5. Click on the link to the database you wish to search and you are ready to begin!

If you are Off-campus and do not have access to MyCCP, you can access the databases through the Library's web page, by clicking on the Databases button.  HOWEVER--using this method you will have limited access to databases but can search EBSCOhost (Note: you will need the current ID and password which can be found in the Campus Announcements section of MyCCP).

Whichever method you choose, please don't hesitate to contact a reference librarian if you need research assistance.

Main Campus: 215-751-8394 | NERC Learning Commons: 215-972-6270 | NWRC Library: 215-496-6019 | WERC Learning Commons: 267-299-5848