Sociology: Articles

Do you have suggestions for resources to add to this guide?  or comments to make? Click on Comments in any of the content boxes and let us hear from you!

In an effort to be good critical thinkers, here are a few articles (not necessarily in MLA format!) to compare with Dewey's writings that we also considered and discussed in the seminar:

• Eageton, Terry, 2010   "Reappraisals: what is the worth of social democracy?" Harper's Magazine, October 2010: 77-80. [also available through the CCP Library's databases, http://library.ccp.edu or via MyCCP]

• Journey to Excellence: socratic seminars (http://www.journeytoexcellence.org/practice/instruction/theories/miscideas/socratic/ )

• Clifford: Making Reflective Judgments [click on PDF below]

• John Dewey: Father of Modern Education  [an anti-Dewey diatribe] http://www.christianparents.com/jdewey.htm

• A New Culture of Learning: John Dewey Meets the Internet [click on PDF below]

ON CAMPUS:

Navigate to the CCP Library home page, at http://library.ccp.edu; then click on Indexes and Databases and choose a database to search.  

Opposing Viewpoints in Context: Premier full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues.

JSTOR: Growing archive of backfiles of journals and book excerpts in fields such as history, economics, political science, mathematics, philosophy, etc. Files start with the first volume of each journal.

OFF CAMPUS:

If you are off-campus, you can access the databases by logging into MyCCP

1. On the MyCCP Home Tab, find the box labeled "Academic Resources"
2. Click on the Library link
3. Then click the Indexes and Databases button
4. Click on the link to the database you wish to search and you are ready to begin!

If you are off-campus and do not have access to MyCCP, you can access the databases through the Library's web page, by clicking on the Indexes and Databases button.  HOWEVER--using this method you will have limited access to databases but can search EBSCOhost (Note: you will need the current ID and password which can be obtained from the Reference Desk during regular business hours by calling: 215-751-8394).

Whichever method  you choose, please don't hesitate to contact a reference librarian if you need research assistance.  We are also available by text chat on Koho, M-R 1-9:00 p.m. and F 1-5:00 p.m. You can find the link to Koho Chat at the bottom of the Library's home page  under the button "IM a Librarian."

Click Search to look for articles on John Dewey and Progressive Education (or try your own search) in Google Scholar. Just remember: Scholar can contain links to student papers....