Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Main Campus: 215-751-8394 | NERC Learning Commons: 215-972-6270 | NWRC Library: 215-496-6019 | WERC Learning Commons: 267-299-5848
The People's Legal Dictionary
The NSA Archive
The NSA Archive
Hosted by the ACLU, this archive contains "a series of documents provided by Edward Snowden detailing the NSA's unlawful spying activities. All of the documents released since that day -- both by the media and the government -- are housed in this database."
Search Google (Public Web Sites or "The Free Web")
Do you have suggestions for resources to add to this guide? or comments to make? Click on Comments in any of the content boxes and let us hear from you!
The Public Library of Law
Powered by FastCase, the Public Library of Law is a searchable database of all of the Supreme Court cases and US Court of Appeals cases since 1950, as well as state case law since 1997.
Selected Paralegal Resources on the Web:
Law Libraries in the Area
Selected Legal Resources on the Web
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation (2012 ed.) by Peter W. Martin of Cornell Law School.
Justia "provides free access to primary legal materials, including case law, codes and regulations, court opinions/orders, and legal articles/blogs...Podcasts from law schools, news agencies, legal firms, and others sources are available." [Choice, Dec 2013].
In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress
Community Legal Services
Website for the Philadelphia Chapter, which provides legal assistance to the needy, with the ongoing support of the Philadelphia Bar Association and the legal community.
Southern Poverty Law Center
"Founded by civil rights lawyers Morris Dees and Joseph Levin Jr. in 1971, the SPLC is internationally known for tracking and exposing the activities of hate groups."
The Pennsylvania Code Online
From the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, this site includes the Commonwealth’s official publication of rules and regulations but does NOT include statutes or acts.
Findlaw for Consumers
FindLaw.com remains the most popular site for free legal information on the Internet.
Greater Philadelphia Law Library Association (GPLLA)
GPLLA is a chapter of the American Association of Law Libraries.
"The Association is established for educational and scientific purposes. It shall be conducted as a non-profit corporation to promote librarianship, to develop and increase the usefulness of law libraries, to cultivate the science of law librarianship and to foster a spirit of cooperation among the members of the profession."
Includes job postings.
Legal Information Institute (LII)
From Cornell University School of Law, this site has been providing open access to the law since 1992.
U.S. Government Publishing Office: Keeping America Informed
The U.S Government Publishing Office (GPO) provides publishing and dissemination services for the official and authentic government publications to Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries, and the American public.