Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latin American Studies : Electronic Journal & Newspaper Articles

Select library and Internet resources for researching Latin American Studies.

Electronic Newspapers

EBSCOhost

Newspaper Source   (EBSCOhost) - provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided

New York Times Historical - Access to news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, stock photos, and advertisements. 1851-2008

ProQuest Newsstand

ProQuest Newsstand – includes the following:
Chicago Tribune (1985-current)
Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
New York Times (1980-current)
The Philadelphia Inquirer (1983-current)
Wall Street Journal (1984-current)
Washington Post (1987-current)
Plus International newspapers

 

 

Electronic Journal Databases

 EBSCOhost graphic

  • EBSCOhost - (All Databases) - Broad subject coverage, including both scholarly and popular periodicals. Has several "sub-databases" from which to choose.1984-current [abstracts]; 1990-current [full-text] Sub-databases that have articles on Religion include:

                             Academic Search Complete

                             Art Full Text

                      Current Biography Illustrated

                      Masterfile Premier

                             Newspaper Source

                             Reader's Guide Full Text

                             Social Sciences Full Text

                             Humanities Full Text

Ethnic NewsWatch

  • Ethnic Newswatch - Interdisciplinary, biligual (English and Spanish), and comprehensive full text databases of newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. 

Jstor

  • JSTOR - Growing archive of backfiles of journals in fields such as history, economics, political science, mathematics, philosophy, etc. Files start with the first volume of each journal. Late 19th Century-2006

  • Project Muse - Provides access to the full-text of over 250 scholarly journals in Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, etc. 1990-current

      

Opposing Viewpoints

The Opposing Viewpoints database is a premier full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues. It provides a variety of sources on many topics. The types of resources can include:

Viewpoint essays (Pro and Con Perspectives on an issue)

Academic Jounals

Primary Sources

Statistics

Images

Videos

Audio

News

Magazine

Reference Sources

Websites

Main Campus: 215-751-8394 | NERC Learning Commons: 215-972-6270 | NWRC Library: 215-496-6019 | WERC Learning Commons: 267-299-5848