LibGuides: African Studies : Electronic Journal & Newspaper Articles

Electronic Newspapers

Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
ProQuest Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream (formerly ProQuest Newsstand) – includes the following:
Chicago Tribune (1985-current)
Los Angeles Times (1985-current)
New York Times (1980-current)
The Philadelphia Inquirer (1983-current)
Wall Street Journal (1984-current)
Washington Post (1987-current)
Plus International newspapers

Electronic Journal Databases

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Broad subject coverage, including both scholarly and popular periodicals. Has many "sub-databases" from which to choose.

PREVIEW the new interface here.
1984-current [abstracts]; 1990-current [full-text].
Historical content beginning in 1691.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary, multilingual, and comprehensive full text databases of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press.
1990-current.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Growing archive of backfiles of journals and book excerpts in fields such as history, economics, political science, mathematics, philosophy, etc. Files start with the first volume of each journal. 1600s-current, depending on the publication.

Opposing Viewpoints

The Opposing Viewpoints database is a premier full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues. It provides a variety of sources on many topics. The types of resources can include:

Viewpoint essays (Pro and Con Perspectives on an issue)

Academic Jounals

Primary Sources

Statistics

Images

Videos

Audio

News

Magazine

Reference Sources

Websites