LibGuides: Music : Reference Sources

Why Use Reference Sources?

Reference books provide overview information for a variety of topics. If you are unfamiliar with your research topic, a general reference source (ex. encyclopedia) is a great place to start!

Qwest TV EDU

Qwest TV EDU This link opens in a new window
A global hub for music and culture by Quincy Jones, Qwest TV is a hand-picked treasure trove of concerts, documentaries, interviews and archive films. List of titles, as of August 2023, is available here.

Select Print Dictionaries

Historical Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Classical Music by Nicole V. Gagne
Call Number: 780.904 G135h, 2012
ISBN: 9780810867659
Publication Date: 2011-09-16
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Stanley Sadie (Editor); John Tyrrell (Editor)
Call Number: 780.3 N532, 2001
ISBN: 1561592390
Publication Date: 2003-02-11

Select Print Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of African American Music by Emmett G. Price (Editor); Tammy Kernodle (Editor); Horace Maxille (Editor)
Call Number: 780.8996 E56, 2011
ISBN: 9780313341991
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Encyclopedia of Latin American Popular Music by George Torres (Editor)
Call Number: 781.64098 E56 2013 Reference
ISBN: 9780313340314
Publication Date: 2013-03-27
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Colin Larkin
Call Number: 781.6403 G964, 2006
ISBN: 9780195313734
Publication Date: 2006-11-20
Encyclopedia of Punk Music and Culture by Brian Cogan
Call Number: 781.66 C676e 2006 (Reference)
ISBN: 9780313333408
Publication Date: 2006-05-30

Credo Reference

Search over 500 dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference sources.
Find a book by subject, title, or type (atlas, dictionary, encyclopedia, etc.):

Accessing Credo Off Campus Through MyCCP

Log into your MyCCP account.

Click on the Library link, under Student Quick Links, on the right.

Click on Dictionaries / Encyclopedias under Quick Links.