Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music : Reference Sources

Select Library and Internet resources for Music Research.

Why Use Reference Sources?

Reference books provide overview information for a variety of topics. If you are unfamiliar with your research topic, a general reference source (ex. encyclopedia) is a great place to start!

Oxford Music Online

Oxford Music Online is a dynamic online resource and the unsurpassed authority on all aspects of music, which includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, second edition; The New Grove Dictionary of Opera; and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, second edition. Also includes access to the full text of the Oxford Companion to Music and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.

Select Print Dictionaries

Select Print Encyclopedias

Credo Reference

Search over 500 dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference sources.
Find a book by subject, title, or type (atlas, dictionary, encyclopedia, etc.):
Credo Logo

Accessing Credo Off Campus Through MyCCP

Log into your MyCCP account.

Click on the Library link in the Student Support box on the right.

Click on the Dictionaries / Encyclopedias link.

Main Campus: 215-751-8394 | NERC Learning Commons: 215-972-6270 | NWRC Library: 215-496-6019 | WERC Learning Commons: 267-299-5848