Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Main Campus: 215-751-8394 | NERC Learning Commons: 215-972-6270 | NWRC Library: 215-496-6019 | WERC Learning Commons: 267-299-5848
Department of Health & Human Services: 2014 Report
View previous years' reports here:
More at HHS.gov
Remember, ".gov" sites are regulated and managed by the U.S. government, so you know that the information on these sites is coming from an official source. This site is run by the Department of Health and Human Services, and offers information and resources about LGBT health, well-being, and related issues.
Campus Pride is the leading national educational organization for LGBTQ and ally college students and campus groups building future leaders and safer, more LGBTQ-friendly colleges and universities.
National Center for Transgender Equality
"The National Center for Transgender Equality (NCTE) is a 501(c)3 social justice organization dedicated to advancing the equality of transgender people through advocacy, collaboration and empowerment. NCTE was founded in 2003 by transgender activists who saw the urgent need for a consistent voice in Washington DC for transgender people."
The Trevor Project
The Trevor Project is the leading national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning youth.
It Gets Better Project
The It Gets Better Project was created to show young LGBT people the levels of happiness, potential, and positivity their lives will reach – if they can just get through their teen years. The It Gets Better Project wants to remind teenagers in the LGBT community that they are not alone — and it WILL get better.
Gay Lesbian Straight Education Network (GLSEN)
GLSEN provides resources for teachers and students to ensure a safe school experience regardless of an individual's sexual orientation. It sponsors events to promote awareness of bullying, harassment, and hate speech in schools and organizes gay, lesbian, and straight alliance groups.
National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
The National Gay and Lesbian Task Force is a national progressive organization working for the civil rights of the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender people.
The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD)
The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD) is dedicated to promoting and ensuring fair, accurate and inclusive representation of people and events in the media as a means of eliminating homophobia and discrimination based on gender identity and sexual orientation.
The Consortium of Higher Education LGBT Resource Professionals
The LGBTQArchitect: A grassroots, open-content project designed to provide information and resources for creating and improving programs for LGBTQA people on college and university campuses.
The Human Rights Campaign - HRC
The Human Rights Campaign is America's largest civil rights organization working to achieve lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) equality. By inspiring and engaging all Americans, HRC strives to end discrimination against LGBT citizens and realize a nation that achieves fundamental fairness and equality for all.
Intersex Youth Advocacy Group
"A youth group for young people with intersex conditions or DSD, sharing their stories with the world."
Free Online Resources
Bibliography of Gay and Lesbian People
This site provides an extensive reading list of GLBT history divided by topic as well as by historical periods and by country.
Department of State: Accomplishments Promoting the Human Rights of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender People
Human rights are inalienable and belong to every person, no matter who that person is or whom that person loves. Since January 2009, Secretary Clinton has directed the Department to champion a comprehensive human rights agenda—one that includes the protection of the human rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people. The Department uses its full range of diplomatic and development tools to press for the elimination of violence and discrimination against LGBT people worldwide, particularly those forced to flee their homes or countries.
Glbtq is an online encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture.
Go Ask Alice!
Columbia University's Health Services program offers frank, honest, and trustworthy answers to sexual, emotional and physical health questions:
National LGBT Museum
"Developed and sustained by the Velvet Foundation, a 501c3 non-profit organization, the Museum will be located in the city of New York, where the LGBT story can most effectively reach a national and international audience."
The National Coalition for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Youth has put together the Oasis Journals. It serves the needs of LGBTQ youth by providing advocacy, information, resources, and support.
People with a History
Online Guide to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Trans* History. It includes hundreds of original texts, discussions, and [soon] images, and addresses LGBT history in all periods, and in all regions of the world.
Queer Theory and Philosophy
This web-page provides one with multiple links to other Queer Theory and philosophical site for LGBTQ studies.
Religion & Spirituality: A Checklist of Resources for Gay Men, Lesbians, Bisexuals and Transgendered Persons
The American Library Association’s Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Round Table (GLBTRT) has put this bibliography together and directs readers to a large number and wide range of published viewpoints available to LGBTQ persons interested in exploring their lives as spiritual journeys.
The Internet Sacred Text Archive
The Internet Sacred Text Archive is a free and credible online archive of religious and sacred texts from around the world. One page is devoted to indexing resources about LGBT issues in religious and sacred texts belonging to several of the world’s religions throughout history.
The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Religious Archives Network
The Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Religious Archives Network (LGBT-RAN) collects and preserves personal papers and organizational records from lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender religious movements. LGBT-RAN seeks to encourage scholarly research about these religious movements and to circulate their information and providing access to them.
Winning the Future: President Obama and the LGBT Community
This site is maintained by The White House and contains information about President Obama's actions and initiatives that have supported LGBT community.