Skip to Main Content

Introduction to Library Research and Using the College's Library: Finding Articles

To access the Library's resources, log into MyCCP and click on Library under Student Quick Links.

Library Hours and Locations

Locations (Hours during regular Fall and Spring semesters are found on the Library's homepage):

Main Campus Library & Learning Commons

215-751-8394
1700 Spring Garden Street
Philadelphia, PA 19130

Northeast Regional Center Learning Commons

215-972-6270
12901 Townsend Road
Philadelphia, PA 19154-1021

Northwest Regional Center Library

215-496-6019
1300 W. Godfrey Avenue
Philadelphia, PA 19141-3315

CLOSED

West Regional Center/CATC Learning Commons

267-299-5848
4725 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19139

Where to Look

Journal articles can be found in the CCP Library by searching through the various databases listed on the A-Z Database List. 

A database is a search tool (akin to a search engine) that contains citations to journal articles (although, sometimes other materials/article types can be found within the database).

Typically the best place to start your search is EBSCO's Academic Search Ultimate. The CCP Library has such as subject specific databases that might be more appropriate for your search.  Listed below are a few of the databases that are most often used by students. These databases include full-text (the entire article). You will be able to print, email, or download complete articles from these databases. These databases are accessed by connecting to the Library page from MyCCP.

EBSCOhost is a database of databases. The most comprehensive database in EBSCOhost is Academic Search Ultimate. This means that many subjects are included in EBSCO. Academic Search Ultimate is a good place to start to begin your research.

JSTOR is a popular database that includes articles that go back to the first volume of many of its journals. You will be able to get historical information on a wide variety of topics by searching JSTOR.
Current Topics Databases

If current topics are what you seek, these databases are the best choices for conducting research.
 
Issues and Controversies is a database that includes information from 1995 to the present. It features news from today's headlines and also includes preselected topics.
 
Opposing Viewpoints presents information from 1990 to the present. It is a searchable database that includes different points of view on controversial topics. Opposing Viewpoints contains links to articles in newspapers, academic journals, as well as links to websites, it also includes audio, video, and images.

Contacting a Librarian

Options for contacting a librarian are below:

Student Resources

Main Campus Library & Learning Commons: 215-751-8394 | NERC Learning Commons: 215-972-6270 | WERC Learning Commons: 267-299-5848