Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Main Campus: 215-751-8394 | NERC Learning Commons: 215-972-6270 | NWRC Library: 215-496-6019 | WERC Learning Commons: 267-299-5848
American Folklife Center (LOC)
The collections of the American Folklife Center include Native American song and dance; ancient English ballads; the tales of "Bruh Rabbit," told in the Gullah dialect of the Georgia Sea Islands; the stories of ex-slaves, told while still vivid in the minds of those who endured one of the most harrowing periods of American history; an Appalachian fiddle tune that has been heard on concert stages around the world; a Cambodian wedding in Lowell, Massachusetts; a Saint Joseph's Day Table tradition in Pueblo, Colorado; Balinese Gamelan music recorded shortly before the Second World War; documentation from the lives of cowboys, farmers, fishermen, coal miners, shop keepers, factory workers, quilt makers, professional and amateur musicians, and housewives from throughout the United States; first-hand accounts of community events from every state; and international collections from every region of the world.
American Museum of Natural History
The site includes a digital collection database of cultural objects and images from a variety of cultures, selected photographs and publications, and descriptions of current ethnographic and archaeological research projects.
Collections Search Center - Anthropology Resources
"The Collections Search Center (CSC) is a great place to find collections across the Smithsonian and to explore objects, archives and library holdings using a creative visual search mechanism. It offers a single search tool to help users more easily find links among the holdings of our four collecting units, the Department of Anthropology Collections, the National Anthropological Archives, and the Human Studies Film Archives, as well as the John Wesley Powell Library."
Peabody Museum of Archaeology & Ethnology
From towering Native American totem poles and large Maya sculptures to precious artifacts of the ancient world, the Peabody Museum is among the oldest archaeological and ethnographic museums in the world with one of the finest collections of human cultural history found anywhere. From Harvard University.
Cultural Anthropology Tutorials
Tutorials created by an instructor at Palomar College, San Marcos, California. Topics include: What is Anthropology?, Human Culture, , Language and Culture, Patterns of Subsistence, Economic Systems, Social Organization, Kinship, Process of Socialization, Ethnicity and Race, Political Organization, Social Control, Anthropology of Religion, Medical Anthropology, and Culture of Change.
Primary Source Documents
World Digital Library (WDL)
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. (8000 BCE – current)