Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Main Campus: 215-751-8394 | NERC Learning Commons: 215-972-6270 | NWRC Library: 215-496-6019 | WERC Learning Commons: 267-299-5848
Where does the content come from?
The DPLA is "fed" by hubs - state and regional digital libraries, as well as large digital libraries around the U.S. Some of the content hubs are below, with all of the current partners listed here.
ARTstor's collaboration with DPLA includes images from six major American museums: the Dallas Museum of Art, the Indianapolis Museum of Art, the National Gallery of Art (paintings from the Samuel H. Kress Collection), the Walters Art Museum, the Yale Center for British Art, and the Yale University Art Gallery.
Digital Library of Georgia
Based at the University of Georgia, this DPLA hub collaborates with Georgia’s Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources about the history and culture of the state.
Empire State Digital Network
This newly formed Network will provide the means for hundreds of libraries, archives, museums, and cultural organizations across the state to contribute digital resources to the Digital Public Library of America. The first phase will include New York Heritage, Hudson River Valley Heritage, digitalMETRO, Long Island Memories, and select pilot collections from our respective memberships.
Of HathiTrust’s nearly 11 million volumes, the metadata records associated with the almost 3.5 million that are freely available will be accessible through DPLA, and through the DPLA application programming interface (API).
Mountain West Digital Library
A regional digital collaboration in Utah, Nevada, southern Idaho, and Arizona, the Mountain West Digital Library includes: research libraries, public libraries, school libraries, museums, historical societies, municipalities, counties, state agencies, and other memory institutions throughout the Mountain West region.
As a Content Hub within the DPLA network, the Smithsonian will provide links to the Smithsonian’s digital collection of books, journals, museum objects, manuscripts and videos.
Primary Source Sets
Primary Source Sets
The Primary Source Sets offer ways to help students develop critical thinking skills while promoting content knowledge. Each set includes a topic overview, 10 to 15 primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide. By design, the sets apply to and readily adapt for diverse classrooms. Everything in the sets was created and peer reviewed by experienced teachers.
Highlighted Primary Source Sets
The Black Power Movement
"The Black Power Movement of the 1960s and 1970s was a political and social movement whose advocates believed in racial pride, self-sufficiency, and equality for all people of Black and African descent."
Early Chinese Immigration to the U.S.
"The following set of resources provides photos, documents, and oral histories that help tell the story of this early period of Chinese immigration to the United States."
Stonewall and Its Impact on the Gay Liberation Movement
"This set uses primary sources to explore the events preceding and surrounding the Stonewall Inn riots as well as the aftermath of the riots in the gay liberation movement of the 1970s and 1980s. These sources demonstrate the continuing influence of Stonewall on America’s LGBTQ community, the civil rights movement, and American politics in general."
The Yellow Fever Epidemic
"Yellow fever broke out in Boston in 1693, Philadelphia in 1793 and Norfolk, Virginia in 1855, but the worst American outbreak of yellow fever occurred in the Mississippi River Valley in 1878."
Primary Source Sets Contributed by CCP Faculty
"Designed to tell stories of national significance using source materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, including letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more."
Thank you to Micah Vandegrift, Florida State University, for the use of some of the content of this LibGuide.