Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA): Home

DPLA is a free, national digital library that provides access to primary and secondary sources from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. This guide will highlight Primary Source Sets, and other materials that may be useful in instruc

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)

DPLA is a free, national digital library that provides access to primary and secondary sources from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.  It consists of a network of partner institutions that make their content available through a single website.  Materials in the collection include photographs, books, maps, sound and video recordings, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, and government documents.  These materials, like the cultural institutions sharing them, represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from small museums to the largest cultural institutions.  

DPLA can be searched by time or place, browsed through a virtual bookshelf or by curated exhibits, and also is a platform to be built upon through apps and widgets. 

What is the DPLA?

The Digital Public Library of America is a free, online library that provides access to millions of books, photographs, maps and audiovisual materials and more from libraries, museums and archives across the United States. The video below offers a brief introduction.

About the DPLA

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.

Values include...

A Commitment to our Mission.

A Commitment to Constructive Collaboration.

A Commitment to Diversity, Inclusion, and Social Justice.

A Commitment to the Public and our Community.

A Commitment to Stewardship of Resources.

(For more detailed information about the principles and practices)

Searching the DPLA

Electronic Resources/Web Librarian

Profile Photo
Jalyn Warren
Contact:
Community College of Philadelphia
1700 Spring Garden Street, L1-16D
Philadelphia, PA 19130
215-751-8304
Website
Subjects: Education, Psychology

DPLA Attribution

Thank you to Micah Vandegrift, Florida State University, for the use of some of the content of this LibGuide.

Main Campus: 215-751-8394 | NERC Learning Commons: 215-972-6270 | NWRC Library: 215-496-6019 | WERC Learning Commons: 267-299-5848