LibGuides: Dental Studies: Home

DATABASES

The databases listed below are suggested as the best resources for finding Nursing and Allied Health articles.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Use EBSCOHost to search Health Source: Nursing/Academic edition, and MEDLINE.
1984-current [abstracts]; 1990-current [full-text].
Historical content beginning in 1691.
Oxford Medicine Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Medicine Online contains over 650 resources of medical information for medical professionals as well as students.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text of journals in nursing and allied health professions.

PubMed
PubMed contains citations and links to full text biomedical literature.

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Articles and research reviews in the following areas: Astronomy, Biology, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Computing: Databases, Discrete Mathematics, Engineering: Structural Analysis, and Physics.

Includes content from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology; the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology and, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. Biographical information is also included.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest, this collection offers over scholarly ebooks from leading publishers on many different subjects including Arts, Business, Education, Health, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science, Social Science, Technology, and more. Subject listing may be helpful.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical and biomedical, consumer health, health administration, etc. - journal articles.
R2 Digital Library (Rittenhouse) This link opens in a new window
R2 Library books of interest to Dental Studies students include: Diet and Nutrition in Oral Health, 2nd edition; and, Ethics, Jurisprudence, & Practice Management in Dental Hygiene, 3rd edition.
Please see the R2 Digital Library for new titles.

PLOS Medicine
PLOS Medicine is an open access journal that has been in publication since 2004.

Remote Access to Databases

If you are off campus, follow these directions to access the library's databases.

Log in to MyCCP
Select Student Services
Click on the Library Link
From the Library Homepage click the Databases tab
Select the A-Z Database list or Databases by Pathway
Begin Searching!

Dental Hygiene Information on the Web

This page contains links to dental information on the Internet. The websites of the professioanl organizations have financial aid and scholarhip information for students.

American Academy of Periodontology
The American Academy of Periodontology includes information for professionals and for the public about periodontics. The website also has links to information about careers and education.
American Dental Association
"America's leading advocate for oral health". This website provides information on the dental profession, including information for students.
American Dental Hygienists Association
The ADHA provides students a membership at a reduced rate and offers information on how to organize a student chapter, as well as the benefits of membership in the organization.
Animated-Teeth.com
Animated-Teeth.com is a consumer oriented website on a variety of oral health topics.
CDC - Infection Control in Dental Settings
The Centers for Disease Control presents a variety of useful information for Dental Hygienists. Here you will find fact sheets, a topical list of FAQs, a glossary of terms, clinical guidelines, and links to journal articles. Additionally, you will find a link to the Division of Oral Health Home page.
National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research
This website provides a variety of industry related information pertaining to oral health, research, grant funding, careers, and also features a newsletter.
New Jersey State Board of Dentistry
Official body for regulation and licensure in the State of New Jersey.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Produced by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Occupational Outlook Handbook provides an overview of the profession which includes working conditions and salary information.
Pennsylvania Dental Hygienists' Association
This is the website of the local ADHA. It has student and financial aid information, local conference information, and it features graduation photos from community college graduates, including the Community College of Philadelphia.
Pennsylvania Department of State. State Board of Dentistry
The links from this website will provide dental health professionals with licensure information, renewal applications, rules and regulations, and more.

Citation Guides

AMA Citation Guide (Purdue Owl)
APA Formatting & Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
Note: There is a link to a citation generator on this page that is not recommended. The CCP Library has a subscription to RefWorks.
Chicago Manual of Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
Note: There is a link to a citation generator on this page that is not recommended. The CCP Library has a subscription to RefWorks.
Chicago Style (Excelsior OWL)
Citation Builder from NCSU
MLA Formatting & Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
Note: There is a link to a citation generator on this page that is not recommended. The CCP Library has a subscription to RefWorks.
The MLA Style Center
Writing resources from the Modern Language Association. Companion site to the MLA Handbook, 9th ed.
Penn State Library Citation Guides
PA residents and students can use many Penn State materials. These writing guides and citation links are helpful.

ILL Tipasa

Interlibrary Loan
Go to Quick Links on the Library Home Page and click "Interlibrary Loan".
Enter your MyCCP user name and password to open the request form.