LibGuides: Free E-Resources: Periodicals and Other Documents

Newspapers

AP News
News from the Associated Press.
AllSides
News articles from the Left, Center, and Right.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020 (Open Access - JSTOR)
American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated people over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing penal institutions of all kinds, including women-only institutions.
Inside Higher Ed
Online source for news, opinion and jobs for all of higher education.

Newspapers, Historical

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
"
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1770-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress."
Google News Archive
New Jersey Digitized Historic Newspapers
An index of all known digitized newspapers published in New Jersey. From the New Jersey State Library.
Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive
"The Pennsylvania Newspaper Archive is a freely accessible web resource developed and hosted by Penn State University Libraries. The archive provides access to the Commonwealth’s historical newspapers as a single portal for all digitized Pennsylvania newspapers."

Open Educational Resources (OER)

A good place to find OER resources is Canvas Commons. You can find complete courses, modules, and other resources already formatted for Canvas. Just be sure to check the licensing of the resource before downloading it. Here is a guide showing how to use Canvas Commons.

MERLOT offers a way to "Search for Materials Related to a Book" by ISBN (International Standard Book Number).

OERSI (Open Educational Resources Search Index), created in 2023, offers a search index for OER in higher education.

The ALPA OER Repository, offered through PALCI and Affordable Learning PA, is a way to search for OER being used at institutions in Pennsylvania. (2023 pilot)

Other places:

Achieving the Dream OER Courses
Openly Licensed Course Materials
BCcampus (Canada)
Find, create, and use open textbooks.
College Open Textbooks
Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources
Libretexts
Great resources for STEM, including interactive resources
Lumen Learning
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)
Real-time federated search for OER content.
Merlot
North Broad Press
"North Broad Press is a joint publishing project between Temple University Press and Temple University Libraries. We publish works of scholarship, both new and reissued, from the Temple University community. All North Broad Press titles are peer reviewed and freely available online."
OASIS (from SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library)
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier.
OER Commons
OER Textbook Publishing / OER at MSU Libraries
From Michigan State University.
Open.Ed@PSU
OPEN.ED@PSU offers high-quality learning materials written by Penn State faculty. These materials are freely available for you to use, reuse, revise, remix, and redistribute under a creative commons license.
OpenStax
OpenStax is "the world’s largest publisher of open education resources (OER) and a provider of interactive learning technologies and education research for high school and college. A nonprofit initiative of Rice University." If using an OpenStax title, let them know here.
Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library, from the Open Education Network, is based in the Center for Open Education in the University of Minnesota’s College of Education and Human Development.
Orange Grove - Florida's Open Education Resource Library
Pressbooks
Online content and courseware development.
Pressbooks Directory
Search and filter books by keyword, subject matter, license, and more.
Project Gutenberg
Rebus Community
"We are a global community working together to create and share Open Educational Resources (OER)."
Skills Commons
Workforce Development

Journals

American Astonomonical Society
The Astronomical Journal (AJ), the Astrophysical Journal (ApJ), Astrophysical Journal Letters (ApJL), and the Astrophysical Journal Supplement Series (ApJS); and the Planetary Science Journal, are now fully open access.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
JSTOR - Early Journal Content
The collection contains nearly 500,000 articles from 200+ journals. Pre-1923 journals in the US and pre-1870 journals elsewhere.
more...less...
Part of ITHAKA.
Public Domain Review
The Public Domain Review is an online journal, a project of the Open Knowledge Foundation, showcasing works which have entered the public domain.
SpringerOpen
Includes Springer’s portfolio of 160+ peer-reviewed fully open access journals across all areas of science ranging from very specialized titles to SpringerPlus, an interdisciplinary open access journal that covers all disciplines.

SpringerOpen journals and books are made freely and permanently available online immediately upon publication.

Pro/Con

Congressional Research Service
This collection provides the public with access to research products produced by the Congressional Research Service (CRS) for the United States Congress.
Pro/Con (From the Britannica Group)
Its mission is “to promote civility, critical thinking, education, and informed citizenship by presenting the pro and con arguments to debatable issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, freely accessible way."

Student-Focused Resources

Student Activism (Open Access - JSTOR)
The Student Activism collection is intended to serve as a scholarly bridge from the extensive history of student protest in the United States to the study of today's vibrant, continually unfolding actions. The collection captures the voices of students across the great range of protest, political actions, and equal-rights advocacy from the 20th and early 21st century United States. The primary sources are broad-based across time, geography, and political viewpoint — from conservative to anarchist.

Electronic Resources/Web Librarian

Jalyn Warren

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Community College of Philadelphia
1700 Spring Garden Street, L1-16D
Philadelphia, PA 19130

215-751-8304

Subjects: Education, Psychology

Miscellaneous

Academy of American Poets
Searchable database by poet or poem.
Encyclopedia Mythica
An encyclopedia on mythology, folklore, magic, and more. It contains over 6000 full text articles on gods and goddesses, supernatural beings, legendary creatures and monsters from all over the world. The user searches alphabetically by category (such as Greek Mythology) or by keyword (among other options).
Google Scholar
Google Scholar attempts to point to more scholarly sources. ViewIt@CCP Library will link back to the Library's subscribed databases.
Internet Archive Scholar
"This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive. The collection spans from digitized copies of eighteenth century journals through the latest Open Access conference proceedings and pre-prints crawled from the World Wide Web."
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
Resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.
Policy Archive
A comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 14,650 documents. From Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI).
Royal Society Journal Archive
Free access to historical scientific articles and papers more than 70 years old.
U.S. Department of Education Pubs Online Ordering System
Order documents (many free) from this site. Search by keyword or subject. Documents are usually received in 10-14 working days.

Free E-Resources: Periodicals and Other Documents

MLA (Modern Language Association) Style