Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Main Campus: 215-751-8394 | NERC Learning Commons: 215-972-6270 | NWRC Library: 215-496-6019 | WERC Learning Commons: 267-299-5848
Free Temporary Access
University of Michigan Museum of Anthropological Archaeology
"In collaboration with the University of Michigan Press, the University of Michigan Museum of Anthropological Archaeology (UMMAA) recently completed a years-long project to digitize its entire catalog. Now the Museum's books—more than 200 titles on archaeology and anthropology, many of them classics—are all available online on the Fulcrum platform. The Museum is celebrating the completion of this project by making all UMMAA titles temporarily free" to READ online until September 30, 2021. Cannot be downloaded.
Documents for the Study of American History. Coverage include transcribed documents from the 9th Century through the Year 2005. From the WWW Virtual Library.
Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature
Internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English. Includes Catalan, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, French, Galician, German, Greek, Irish, Italian, Latin, Norwegian, Old Norse and Icelandic, Portuguese, Provencal, Spanish and Swedish.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
This site is one the largest religious archives on the Internet. The content here is broad in scope, taking on religion, mythology, legend, folklore, occult, and esoteric topics. Last updated in 2011.
Perseus Digital Library
Perseus is an evolving digital library providing sources for Humanities studies.
Victorian Women Writers Project
The Victorian Women Writers Project (VWWP) began in 1995 at Indiana University and is primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare.
The Feminist Chronicles, 1953-1993
Excerpted from a larger work, the Feminist Chronicles of the 20th Century. Both Chronicles dramatize the ever-on-going, day-by-day, year-by-year effort of feminist women to improve the lives and status of all women and to empower them as equal players in the world's affairs.
These texts are freely provided by the sponsoring organization and are searchable by title.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
29,688 Academic peer-reviewed books from 390 publishers (as of 8/18/2020).
Hand picked collection of the best public domain books to be found in the English language over the last four hundred years.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Internet Archive Text Archive
Download free books and texts. The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts, and academic books.
Open Library is an initiative of the Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form.
Literature digitally re-published.
Thousands of free online books.