Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Main Campus: 215-751-8394 | NERC Learning Commons: 215-972-6270 | NWRC Library: 215-496-6019 | WERC Learning Commons: 267-299-5848
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions.
Relying on the expertise of distinguished curators and scholars, Digital Schomburg provides access to trusted information, interpretation and scholarship on the global black experience. From The New York Public Library.
Duke University Libraries Digital Collections
Digitized historic photographs, advertisements, texts & more from Duke's unique library collections.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
"Universal knowledge and creativity, preserved for future generations."
Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Collection Online
Explore over 390,000 works of art from the museum's encyclopedic collection.
Robert Frost at Bread Loaf
Online exhibit including photo images and full-text letters and manuscripts. Online exhibit presented by Special Collections at Middlebury College.
Shared Shelf Commons
Open-access library of images from libraries, archives, and museums around the world. Powered by Artstor.
University of the Pacific Digital Collections
Digital Collections from Holt-Atherton Special Collections.
Almost 4,500 of 82,000 ancient manuscripts have been digitized.
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. It acts as a common repository for the various projects of the Wikimedia Foundation, but you do not need to belong to one of those projects to use media hosted here. The repository is created and maintained not by paid archivists, but by volunteers.
Law and Legal Collections
MUSE in Focus: Collections
MUSE in Focus: Addressing Gun Violence
Project MUSE is providing free access to more than a dozen journal articles and books focused on understanding and preventing gun violence. The goal is to encourage the broadest possible engagement with current research and expertise on the topic as the latest round of gun policy debates and discussions continue in the wake of shootings in California, Texas, and Ohio (8-15-19)
The collection features titles such as Private Guns, Public Health, by David Hemenway, and After Gun Violence: Deliberation and Memory in an Age of Political Gridlock, by Craig Rood. Also included is the contributed work, Reducing Gun Violence in America: Informing Policy with Evidence and Analysis, edited by Daniel W. Webster and Jon S. Vernick.
MUSE in Focus: Contexualizing Pandemic
“MUSE in Focus: Contextualizing Pandemic” is a small sampling of temporarily free scholarship from Project MUSE publishers on the broad topic of pandemic and its effects throughout history, in culture, and on humanity as a whole. We hope that bringing these pieces together will help to bring historical and cultural context to the current crisis, so that we may look to the knowledge of the past to guide us forward.
MUSE in Focus: Humanity’s “Code Red” on Climate Change
“Humanity’s ‘Code Red’ on Climate Change” explores the human causes and effects of climate change, and the urgency of action to avert future catastrophe.
MUSE in Focus: Roots of the Attack on Democracy
"Roots of the Attack on Democracy” explores the history of American right-wing extremism and the modern forces that culminated these attitudes in our current moment. Understanding the nature of these challenges provides the best chance to overcome them.
On Race and Racism
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality
From ProQuest, "featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Our intention is to support a wide range of students (see examples for using in teaching and learning), as well independent researchers and anyone interested in learning more about the foundation of ongoing racial injustice in the U.S. – and the fights against it."
"The articles, published over the course of JSTOR Daily’s five years try to provide such context vital both in and out of the classroom. (Note: Some readers may find some of the stories in this syllabus or the photos used to illustrate them disturbing. Teachers may wish to use caution in assigning them to students.)
MUSE in Focus: Confronting Structural Racism
MUSE in Focus: Confronting Structural Racism is a selection of temporarily free books and articles from a wide range of Project MUSE publishers and perspectives about the history of racism in America, its endurance throughout society, and how the country can respond now to enact meaningful and lasting reform.
Discovering American Women's History Online
From the James E. Walker Library at Middle Tennessee State University, this database provides access to digital collections of primary sources that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Women Working, 1800-1930
Women Working, 1800–1930 is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.
MUSE in Focus: Commemorating the 19th Amendment
As we celebrate the 100th anniversary of women’s right to vote in the United States, we also must acknowledge that the 19th Amendment’s passage was just one victory in a much larger and ongoing political struggle for women and other marginalized peoples demanding their democratic rights. “MUSE in Focus: Commemorating the 19th Amendment” is a curated selection of content from Project MUSE’s publishing partners and offers a broad range of perspectives about the history of the women’s suffrage movement in the US and its continued relevance to the ongoing struggle for true democracy around the globe.
Library of Congress
78 RPMs and Cylinder Recordings
Listen to this collection of 78rpm records and cylinder recordings released in the early 20th century. These recordings were contributed to the Archive by users through the Open Source Audio collection.
Free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Film and Video Collection (LOC)
From the Library of Congress (LOC), over 7,200 are available.