Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

United States History: References Sources

Select library and Internet resources for researching United States History.

Why Use Reference Sources?

Reference books provide overview information for a variety of topics. If you are unfamiliar with your research topic, a general reference source (ex. encyclopedia) is a great place to start!

Virtual Dictionaries

Cambridge Dictionaries Online - An online resource providing access to entries Cambridge publications: Cambridge International Dictionary of English, Cambridge Learner's Dictionary, Cambridge Dictionary of American English, Cambridge International Dictionary of Idioms, Cambridge International Dictionary of Phrasal Verbs, Cambridge Klett Bilingual Dictionary-French/English and Cambridge Klett Bilingual Dictionary-Spanish/English.

Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary Online - Includes a thesaurus, reverse dictionary, rhyming dictionary and more.

Select Print Dictionaries

Select Print Encyclopedias

Credo Reference

Search over 500 dictionaries, encyclopedias and other reference sources.
Find a book by subject, title, or type (atlas, dictionary, encyclopedia, etc.):
Credo Logo

Accessing Credo Off Campus Through MyCCP

Log into your MyCCP account.

Click on the Library link in the Student Support box on the right.

Click on the Dictionaries / Encyclopedias link.

Opposing Viewpoints

The Opposing Viewpoints database is a premier full-text resource covering today’s hottest social issues. It provides a variety of sources on many topics. The types of resources can include:

Viewpoint essays (Pro and Con Perspectives on an issue)

Academic Jounals

Primary Sources

Statistics

Images

Videos

Audio

News

Magazine

Reference Sources

Websites

Main Campus: 215-751-8394 | NERC Learning Commons: 215-972-6270 | NWRC Library: 215-496-6019 | WERC Learning Commons: 267-299-5848