Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Allied Health: Home

This guide contains information to support students and faculty in the Colliege's Allied Health programs.

NOTE: Login to the Library from MyCCP to View the Databases and E-books.

DATABASES

The databases listed below are suggested as the best resources for finding Nursing and Allied Health articles.

Remote Access to Databases

If you are off campus, follow these directions to access the library's databases.

  1. Log in to MyCCP
  2. Go to the Student link
  3. Click on Library under Important Links
  4. Choose Databases on the Library Homepage
  5. Select Databases AtoZ list or Databases by Pathway
  6. Begin Searching!

 

Health Careers Overview

The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides an overview of health careers in a variety of fields. Take a look at this website and follow the links to the individual careers that are offered in the CCP Healthcare Pathway.

https://www.bls.gov/ooh/healthcare/home.htm

Beliefs, Culture and Health

Image result for healthcare chaplaincy.org

"HealthCare Chaplaincy Network™ (HCCN), founded in 1961, is a global health care nonprofit organization that offers spiritual care-related information and resources, and professional chaplaincy services in hospitals, other health care settings, and online. Its mission is to advance the integration of spiritual care in health care through clinical practice, research and education in order to improve patient experience and satisfaction and to help people faced with illness and grief find comfort and meaning--whoever they are, whatever they believe, wherever they are."

This organization regularly updates their useful but not comprehensive publication, A Dictionary of Patient's Spiritual and Cultural Values for Health Care Professionals. It essentially describes the beliefs and practices commonly found within a particular cultural or religious group.

What is Cultural Competency in Healthcare?

10 Cultural Factors the Influence Health Care

10 Cultural Factors that Influence Health Care

-originally posted on the CAL Learning blog-

"In order to improve health care delivery and outcomes, providers must develop the cultural competence to serve patients from diverse cultures.

Western culture takes a biomedical approach to health care. However, many cultures take a more holistic approach that includes the body, mind, and spirit. Providers who work with the patient’s belief system, rather than against it or ignoring it, will have greater success in delivery and outcomes. Providers must also be aware of their own cultural filters in the health care delivery process.

To improve health care delivery and outcomes, providers should know the patient’s cultural views on:

  1. Role of family (roles of members, hierarchy, key decision-maker)
  2. Role of community
  3. Religion (impact on diet, beliefs about illness, treatment)
  4. Views on health and wellness
  5. Views on death and dying
  6. Eastern/western/alternative/traditional medicine.
  7. Beliefs about causes and treatments of illness, disease (physical and mental)
  8. Gender roles and relationships
  9. Sexuality,  fertility, childbirth
  10. Food beliefs and diet"

Nursing and Allied Health Librarian

Research Appointment

Finding Books in the CCP Library Catalog Using Summon

PLEASE NOTE:

ONLY ebooks are available until in-person services resume.

ILL Tipasa

Main Campus: 215-751-8394 | NERC Learning Commons: 215-972-6270 | NWRC Library: 215-496-6019 | WERC Learning Commons: 267-299-5848