LibGuides: Allied Health: Medical Laboratory Technician

E-Books

Clinical Laboratory Management by Lynne S. Garcia
ISBN: 9781555817282
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods by Richard A. McPherson; Richard I. McPherson; Matthew R. Pincus
ISBN: 9780323295680
Publication Date: 2016-05-12
Manual of Molecular and Clinical Laboratory Immunology, Eighth Edition by Barbara Detrick (Editor); John L. Schmitz (Editor); Robert G. Hamilton (Editor)
ISBN: 9781555818722
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference by Kathleen Deska Pagana; Timothy J. Pagana; Theresa N. Pagana
ISBN: 9780323609685
Publication Date: 2018-11-15
Quality in Laboratory Hemostasis and Thrombosis by Steve Kitchen (Editor); John D. Olson (Editor); F. Eric Preston (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118543481
Publication Date: 2013-02-26

Professional Organizations

American Medical Technologists The American Medical Technologists website provides useful information to its members on certification, continuing education, and much more.
American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science Founded in 1933, the mission of the American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science is " to make a positive impact in health care through leadership that will assure excellence in the practice of laboratory medicine."
ASCP American Society for Clinical Pathology The ASCP was founded in 1922 and is the leading organization of over 100,000 members.

Career Outlook

Clinical Laboratory Technologists and Technicians The Occupational Outlook provides an overall view of the profession, including work environment and salary information.

ILL Tipasa

Interlibrary Loan
Go to Quick Links on the Library Home Page and click "Interlibrary Loan".
Enter your MyCCP user name and password to open the request form.

DATABASES

The databases listed below are suggested as the best resources for finding Nursing and Allied Health articles.

EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Use EBSCOHost to search Health Source: Nursing/Academic edition, and MEDLINE.
1984-current [abstracts]; 1990-current [full-text].
Historical content beginning in 1691.
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text of journals in nursing and allied health professions.
Ovid Nursing Journal Collection This link opens in a new window Access to nursing journals, including: Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal; Advances in Neonatal Care; Advances in Nursing Science; Advances in Skin & Wound Care; AJN: American Journal of Nursing; Cancer Nursing: An International Journal for Cancer Care; CIN: Computers, Informatics, Nursing; Clinical Nurse Specialist; Critical Care Nursing Quarterly; Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing; Family & Community Health; Gastroenterology Nursing; Health Care Management Review; Holistic Nursing Practice; Home Healthcare Now; JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports; JONA's Healthcare Law, Ethics, and Regulation; Journal for Nurses in Professional Development; Journal of Addictions Nursing; Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing; Journal of Christian Nursing; Journal of Hospice & Palliative Nursing; Journal of Infusion Nursing; Journal of Nursing Administration; Journal of Nursing Care Quality; Journal of Patient Safety; Journal of Perinatal & Neonatal Nursing; Journal of the Dermatology Nurses' Association; Journal of Trauma Nursing; Journal of WOCN (Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nursing); LPN- Backfile; MCN, The American Journal of Maternal/Child Nursing; Nurse Educator; Nurse Practitioner, The; Nursing Administration Quarterly; Nursing Made Incredibly Easy!; Nursing Management; Nursing Research; Nursing@Ovid Interface; Nursing2017 Critical Care; Nutrition Today; OR Nurse – Backfile; Orthopaedic Nursing; Plastic Surgical Nursing; and, Professional Case Management. As of 2-12-24: SELECT ALL RESOURCES
PsycARTICLES (Now APA PsycArticles) This link opens in a new window
PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1. PsycArticles is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms®.

PubMed for Nurses
PubMed is a government database that contains citations for the biomedical literature found in MEDLINE.
more...less...
This site offers a tutorial for finding nursing literature in the PubMed database.

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Articles and research reviews in the following areas: Astronomy, Biology, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Computing: Databases, Discrete Mathematics, Engineering: Structural Analysis, and Physics.

Includes content from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology; the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology and, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. Biographical information is also included.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
From ProQuest, this collection offers over scholarly ebooks from leading publishers on many different subjects including Arts, Business, Education, Health, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science, Social Science, Technology, and more. Subject listing may be helpful.
Health & Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical and biomedical, consumer health, health administration, etc. - journal articles.
R2 Digital Library (Rittenhouse) This link opens in a new window
Nursing titles include: Calculation Skills for Nurses, 2nd edition; Cultural Competencies for Nurses, 2nd edition, Math for Nurses, 8th edition; Lippincott Manual of Nursing Practice, 10th edition, and more.
Please see the R2 Digital Library for new titles.

PLOS Medicine
PLOS Medicine is an open access journal that has been in publication since 2004.

Citation Guides

AMA Citation Guide (Purdue Owl)
APA Formatting & Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
Note: There is a link to a citation generator on this page that is not recommended. The CCP Library has a subscription to RefWorks.
Chicago Manual of Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
Note: There is a link to a citation generator on this page that is not recommended. The CCP Library has a subscription to RefWorks.
Chicago Style (Excelsior OWL)
Citation Builder from NCSU
MLA Formatting & Style Guide (Purdue OWL)
Note: There is a link to a citation generator on this page that is not recommended. The CCP Library has a subscription to RefWorks.
The MLA Style Center
Writing resources from the Modern Language Association. Companion site to the MLA Handbook, 9th ed.
Penn State Library Citation Guides
PA residents and students can use many Penn State materials. These writing guides and citation links are helpful.

Allied Health: Medical Laboratory Technician

NOTE: Login to the Library from MyCCP to view eBooks. Search Summon for the Library's complete collection of books/eBooks.

E-Books

Professional Organizations

Career Outlook

ILL Tipasa

DATABASES

Citation Guides