It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Allied Health: Home
This guide contains information to support students and faculty in the Colliege's Allied Health programs.
Articles and research reviews in the following areas: Astronomy, Biology, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Computing: Databases, Discrete Mathematics, Engineering: Structural Analysis, and Physics.
Includes content from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology; the McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology and, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. Biographical information is also included.
From ProQuest, this collection offers over scholarly ebooks from leading publishers on many different subjects including Arts, Business, Education, Health, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine, Philosophy, Political Science, Religion, Science, Social Science, Technology, and more. Subject listing may be helpful.
R2 Library books of interest to Dental Studies students include: Diet and Nutrition in Oral Health, 2nd edition; and, Ethics, Jurisprudence, & Practice Management in Dental Hygiene, 3rd edition. Please see the R2 Digital Library for new titles.
Select Databases AtoZ list or Databases by Pathway
Health Careers Overview
The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides an overview of health careers in a variety of fields. Take a look at this website and follow the links to the individual careers that are offered in the CCP Healthcare Pathway.
"HealthCare Chaplaincy Network™ (HCCN), founded in 1961, is a global health care nonprofit organization that offers spiritual care-related information and resources, and professional chaplaincy services in hospitals, other health care settings, and online. Its mission is to advance the integration of spiritual care in health care through clinical practice, research and education in order to improve patient experience and satisfaction and to help people faced with illness and grief find comfort and meaning--whoever they are, whatever they believe, wherever they are."
"In order to improve health care delivery and outcomes, providers must develop the cultural competence to serve patients from diverse cultures.
Western culture takes a biomedical approach to health care. However, many cultures take a more holistic approach that includes the body, mind, and spirit. Providers who work with the patient’s belief system, rather than against it or ignoring it, will have greater success in delivery and outcomes. Providers must also be aware of their own cultural filters in the health care delivery process.
To improve health care delivery and outcomes, providers should know the patient’s cultural views on:
Role of family (roles of members, hierarchy, key decision-maker)
Role of community
Religion (impact on diet, beliefs about illness, treatment)
Views on health and wellness
Views on death and dying
Beliefs about causes and treatments of illness, disease (physical and mental)